Skip to content

We use cookies to make the site simpler. Find out more about cookies

Close alert

Christmas and New Year rubbish and recycling

Over Christmas and New Year, your usual rubbish, recycling and food waste collection days will be different. Check the table below for your revised collection days:

Christmas rubbish and recycling collection dates 2018/2019
 Usual collection dayRevised collection day 
 Monday 24 December  No change
 Tuesday 25 December  Thursday 27 December
 Wednesday 26 December  Friday 28 December
 Thursday 27 December  Saturday 29 December
 Friday 28 December  Monday 31 December
 Monday 31 December  Wednesday 2 January
 Tuesday 1 January  Thursday 3 January
 Wednesday 2 January  Friday 4 January
 Thursday 3 January  Saturday 5 January
 Friday 4 January  Monday 7 January
 Monday 7 January  Tuesday 8 January
 Tuesday 8 January  Wednesday 9 January
 Wednesday 9 January  Thursday 10 January
 Thursday 10 January  Friday 11 January
 Friday 11 January  Saturday 12 January
 Monday 14 January  No change

Extra rubbish and recycling?

  • we will collect up to two extra sacks of rubbish beside your bin on your first rubbish collection after Boxing Day
  • we will collect extra recycling that won't fit in your bin if placed in your own boxes, with glass kept in a separate box
  • Household Recycling Centres are open from 10am to 4pm daily, except Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year's Day.

Garden waste collections over Christmas and New Year

The Garden Waste service is suspended over the Christmas and New Year period, from Tuesday 25 December until Tuesday 8 January. 

Recycle more this Christmas

Most of us produce extra waste over the festive period.  Using the Recycle for Dorset service, you can recycle the following:

Brown food bin

  • cooked and uncooked food waste

Recycling bin (or boxes if you don't use bins)

  • wrapping paper (not foil based)
  • Christmas cards
  • cardboard
  • tins and cans
  • plastic bottles, pots, tubs and trays

Box for glass

  • glass bottles and jars (leave metal screw tops on bottles)

Battery bag

  • household batteries.

Check what you can recycle using the Recycle for Dorset collection service

Recycling your real Christmas tree

The Dorset Waste Partnership no longer collects real Christmas trees at the kerbside.

If you buy a real Christmas tree there are options for what to do once you've finished with it and removed all its decorations:

  • if you have a garden waste collection, you can cut your real tree into small pieces and put it in your garden waste bin
  • real Christmas trees can be taken to your local Household Recycling Centre and placed in the garden waste container for composting, free of charge

Please note that local organisations may be running Christmas tree collections to raise money for charity.

Residents are also being asked to consider more eco-friendly options such as home composting, or buying a rooted tree that can be kept in the garden until next year.

Artificial Christmas trees will also not be collected by the DWP. If you can't keep it to use again, please take your tree to your local Household Recycling Centre.

Rate this page

Have some feedback?

Your feedback

This form is to report content that is wrong, issues you have with the pages or any feedback you have.

Contact us if you want to get in touch about a council service instead.

All fields are required.

Leave your email address so that we can provide a response.

This helps us direct your feedback to the appropriate council.

General data protection regulation (GDPR)

We will only use the personal information supplied by you in accordance with GDPR. By giving us this information you are consenting to such use as set out in our privacy notice.